The Quirky House

This is the quirky house that I’m calling home for the next 6 months.

The rental house

The rental house

With some of my original plans not working out I had to find an affordable alternative to staying in a hotel long term.  Besides the cost of the room there was the added cost of dining out.

I had cut some of my food expenses by buying food from the local supermarket.  Since I had no refrigerator meals consisted of mostly canned tuna in several forms.  They have many varieties of tuna with various sauces and sometimes other ingredients in the can which provides variety from just plain tuna but it’s still not the healthiest way to eat.  I added some carrots, fresh fruit and of course some wonderful bread, but not being able to cook or keep refrigerated items was very limiting.

Since it isn’t possible to stay in my house at the moment I started looking at rental options and eventually found this house.  It looks quite normal from the outside and, in fact, is not terribly unusual by French standards, but since most of the readers are American they will find it quite different.

I will provide a detailed tour of the house so for those only casually interested there’s always the option to just scroll through.

Entry

Entry

Entering the house there are stairs leading to the first floor.  (By European standards one starts on the ground floor and then goes up to the first floor, etc.)  Directly to the left in the entry there is a coat closet.  A turn to the left there is the garage and turning again to face the street is the meter cabinet.

Meter Cabinet

Meter Cabinet

At the back of the garage is an area with a very low ceiling that contains the washing machine; I have to do the laundry bent over because I can’t stand up there.

Wash Room

Wash Room

There is an odd little area to the right under the stairs that I haven’t figured out yet.

The garage has a clothes line set up however, even though the weather has been very hot out, it remains rather cool and slightly damp.  That means only light weight fabric dries there.  I hung up some towels that I left up for two days and resorted to finding places around the house to hang the heavier ones to dry completely.

The garage

The garage

Since then I have resorted to taking heavy items to the local laundromat to dry.

Oh and the plug on the right belongs to the washer – an extended cord rather than an extension cord.

Going up, a turn of the stairs to the left leads to the first floor landing.

At the back is another coat closet primarily used for cleaning supplies.

Dining area

Dining area

Dining / Lounge

Dining / Lounge

Lounge

Lounge

To the left is the dining room/lounge.

To the right, across from the lounge, through the door maze, is the kitchen.  The center door closes off the stairs but if you don’t want it closed, for circulation, it proves an obstacle between the kitchen and dining room.

Entering Kitchen

Entering Kitchen

Yes, It's a bathroom

Yes, It’s a bathroom

Entering the kitchen seems fairly normal until you look to the right.

Yes, that’s a bathroom directly off the kitchen.

Bathtub

Bathtub

The bathtub is short and deep (about 26”) and has a little seat at the back.  It’s quite a step out for me at 5’ 5”.

Returning to the kitchen…

"Court Yard"

“Court Yard”

the back door leads to a narrow but deep patio.  The top of the wall is even with the 2nd floor.

To the left is the fridge and some cabinets.  Fortunately the house is primarily used as a holiday rental so it comes not only furnished but also equipped with dishes and other useful kitchen utensils.  (It also includes some bedding and towels.)

Equipped Kitchen

Equipped Kitchen

2nd to 1st floor

2nd to 1st floor

Continuing to the second floor we go up the stairs which are rather steep, as you can see looking down, with a rise of 8”.

To the right on the second floor landing a toilet and sink are tucked away in a small but functional corner.

2nd floor 1/2 bath

2nd floor 1/2 bath

Master bedroom

Master bedroom

Master bedroom

Master bedroom

Master bedroom

Master bedroom

Master bedroom

Master bedroom

The master bedroom is slightly to the left of the stairs and is quite spacious.  The windows face the back courtyard and neighbor’s gardens.

2nd bedroom

2nd bedroom

The door to the second bedroom is just past the master bedroom on the same side.  It has twin beds and a window facing the front.

The third bedroom is facing the front with bunk beds.

3rd bedroom

3rd bedroom

You have to watch your step going from one bedroom to another because there’s an odd change in level; there’s also a noticeable slope heading into the toilet area.

Past the stairs at a sharp left on the landing is a wardrobe.

Wardrobe

Wardrobe

That’s the grand tour !  At first I was concerned about the size but I’ve rather grown to like the house.

You may be wondering why I have a three bedroom house – the answer is simple, that’s just what I found.

It’s a bit further from my house than I had hoped, about a half hour walk each way, but it’s still in town and doable.

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. I arrived in France June 2015 and moved into my new house on New Year’s Eve. I’m experiencing challenges with ongoing renovations but it hasn’t dampened my spirit. Now I’m settling into life here, joining in the local community, enjoying visits from family and friends, and exploring other areas of France. * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Where I am and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Quirky House

  1. Mary says:

    Plenty of room for daughter, grandson and grand-puppy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vickie Hildreth says:

    Love your rental house. I can probably come to visit, but not until October … ish. How does that sound to you?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

