Beauty in Simplicity

Flowers in stairs

Flowers in stairs

Sometimes it’s the beauty in the simple things that catch our attention.   Like flowers growing in the crevice of some steps,

Wild strawberries

Wild strawberries

tiny wild strawberries that grow all around town

Rose near train station

Rose near train station

or a single rose on the walk to the train station.

I am truly thankful for the big things in my life: my daughter & grandson, good health, my house, a place to stay while my house is being renovated, this journey!

But I find that on this journey I am daily reminded of all the small things in my life that I’m thankful for too:

like shade while walking (my main mode of transportation now) – and shade from passing clouds while working in my garden,

shelter in the overhang of a house when one of those clouds decided to cut loose with rain on my walk home from the store,

Morning view

Morning view

a fresh morning breeze and gorgeous view when I open the shutters (where I’m now staying – not my house).

There’s something about pushing the shutters opening that I love.  It’s like setting my soul free every morning.

I’m also thankful for all the wonderful food:

such as a cup of tea at my leisure or a meal that I cooked myself (not that I don’t appreciate the superb restaurant food but my budget doesn’t allow for much dining out),

Real fresh fruit

Real fresh fruit

fresh fruit that tastes like real fruit,

as well as an occasional treat from one of the local boulangeries.

Just dessert

Just dessert

I thank God for all of this!

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. I arrived in France June 2015 and moved into my new house on New Year’s Eve. I’m experiencing challenges with ongoing renovations but it hasn’t dampened my spirit. Now I’m settling into life here, joining in the local community, enjoying visits from family and friends, and exploring other areas of France. * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Where I am and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beauty in Simplicity

  1. Mary says:

    The fruit looks scrumptious (of course)! It’s so nice to slow down and enjoy the small things. I think that’s exactly what God intends for us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

