Visiting Uzerche – a Guest Post from Mary

First Glimpse of the Vielle Ville

First Glimpse of the Vielle Ville

It’s my last day in Uzerche, and my mom asked if I’d like to share a few thoughts on my time here before I head back to California.

Uzerche holds a special place in my heart. Besides being the place where my mom is now enjoying her retirement, it’s full of character and promises delightful views throughout the city.

I’m awestruck every time we get that first glimpse of the Vielle Ville (Old part of town) as we’re walking to the bakery or the bank or the house my mom’s renovating. The stone buildings are centuries old and project a sense of strength and beauty.

Alexis Boyer, Napoleon's Surgeon

Alexis Boyer, Napoleon’s Surgeon

There are reminders everywhere of the history this place holds:

The plaque that marks the place named after Napoleon’s surgeon, Alexis Boyer who was born in Uzerche,

Plaque Honoring Eduard Chauvignat

Plaque Honoring Eduard Chauvignat

The memorial on the wall where a young man from the French Resistance was tortured by Germans near the end of WWII (His grave is one of the first you see as you enter the Saint Pierre Cemetery.)

The crypt below the church, dating back to the 11th century…          And the list goes on.

Entrance to 11th Century Crypt

Entrance to 11th Century Crypt

Then there’s the natural beauty; La Vézère, the river that winds through the town has, in various places, mossy walls and tree covered paths that wind along with it. From its walking path near the old train station, you get a spectacular view of the Vielle Ville.

Between its nature and architecture, you could walk for hours enjoying every minute.

View from La Vezere

View from La Vezere

And the patisseries… let’s just say we saw the ladies in the pastry shop almost daily, and they waved to us as we walked by even when we weren’t stopping in for our much loved treats! Marie-Laure, the taxi driver waved a friendly hello when we saw her too. She’ll be taking me to the train station tomorrow morning, as I head to Paris for my flight home.

I’m truly sad to leave… my mom, the city, and the opportunity to speak as much French as I can possibly remember from college. But I’ll certainly be back!

Promise!Rainbow 2

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. I arrived in France June 2015 and moved into my new house on New Year’s Eve. I’m experiencing challenges with ongoing renovations but it hasn’t dampened my spirit. Now I’m settling into life here, joining in the local community, enjoying visits from family and friends, and exploring other areas of France. * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Guest Post and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Visiting Uzerche – a Guest Post from Mary

  1. Rebecca McCoy says:

    Thanks for sharing your words. I am sure your mother is going to miss you too.

    Like

  2. Carol Walter says:

    What a unique special time for you and your mom, I’m sure it will always hold a special place in your hearts. As I see and hear of your adventures, I’m so excited that I will get to see Uzerche, also.

    Like

  3. nightclub says:

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your webpage? My website is in the very same area of interest
    as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the
    information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thanks a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

