A Time of Reflection

A single attack at a café in Paris had been reported before I turned my computer off last night. But I awoke to horrific news the next morning; six concerted attacks in and around Paris with over 125 deaths and more than 200 injuries.

Today I check the internet periodically for updates; shocked, saddened and totally unable to comprehend the hatred it takes to carry out such acts of violence.

I have found a glimmer of light in the midst of this darkness through #PorteOuverte. With transportation in Paris disrupted last night many were stranded in the city. A number of Parisians have opened their doors to allow these people to stay in their homes.

In addition it was reported that numerous taxi drivers turned off their meters to transport people out of the affected areas.

As I walked past the French flag flying at half-mast I was reminded that the French have a long history of solidarity.  The people of France will stand strong. They will not let terrorism defeat them.

I am proud to call France my home at this time and hope to continue to do so for many years to come.


Please pray for France. – Events of 13 Nov 2015

FYI : Uzerche is about 275 miles south of Paris

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. I arrived in France June 2015 and moved into my new house on New Year’s Eve. I’m experiencing challenges with ongoing renovations but it hasn’t dampened my spirit. Now I’m settling into life here, joining in the local community, enjoying visits from family and friends, and exploring other areas of France. * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Around France, Where I am and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment