The Too Much To Do List

Making a list and checking it twice …

No I’m not playing Santa.  I’m getting ready to move into my house by the end of the year!

Originally I thought the Acte Authentique (transfer deed) would be signed on December 30th so I planned to extend my stay at the rental house through January.  But since I will be signing on the 18th I decided to save a month’s rent and move in by December 31st.  That leaves a rather challenging and optimistic schedule to get just the necessities handled.  But, as those who know me well can attest, I’m not particularly disposed to choosing the easiest route to my objective.

Complicating this schedule are the holidays.  The French take their holidays seriously; no questions about businesses staying open here, they just don’t.  Christmas and New Year’s Day fall on Fridays, Sunday’s, if open at all, shops are generally only open half day, most shops are closed Mondays and it is very common to bridge a holiday near a weekend, potentially knocking out Saturday and I wouldn’t be surprised at all if they close early on the eve of the holidays.  I haven’t noticed extended hours for Christmas shopping, it does happen but it isn’t prevalent.  They tend to stick with sales, in store seasonal displays, and add in a few holiday boutique markets.

Today, thanks to a very patient agent, I was able to bumble my way through getting things arranged for my house insurance utilizing only rudimentary French.  To finalize the insurance I will need to meet with an agent at my house so they can view the condition.  That appointment will be set via email then I may need to go to Tulle to sign the papers since that’s where the policy for the first house was written.  It will take several days to arrange it all but the policy will be effective as of the signing date.

Check one thing off the list.

Tomorrow I will go to Brive-la-Gaillarde (thankfully known as Brive for short) to start shopping for furniture.  I have a second trip allotted for Saturday if necessary.  I’ve already been looking on line but I don’t want to buy a mattress without trying it first.  I don’t anticipate problems in finding items it’s trying to get timely delivery that is concerning to me.  It’s likely that delivery schedules are affected by the holidays either through volume or vacation schedules.

I have started to pack some things that I know I won’t need for the next few weeks and gather things that I may need so they can easily be packed as I’ve finished with them.  Fortunately I don’t have furniture to move.  The biggest items are my wire drying racks so that’s a plus.

I’m working on a laundry schedule to have almost all of my clothes clean and the linens for the rental house washed and hopefully dry on my move out date.  Without a clothes dryer it’s necessary to plan a day or two for drying time between loads.  I don’t anticipate having a washing machine for a couple of weeks after the move and the local laundromat has been closed so this is a critical step.

I’ve also setting up menus to use up my perishable food here.  Then the uncertainty of having a refrigerator available means some creative meal plans will be required for the first several days at my house.

There is a lot of cleaning required at my house.  A couple of year’s accumulation of dust and cobwebs and disuse of bath, sink & toilet means a great deal of elbow grease will be required throughout.  The bathroom and the kitchen sink will be the first areas to tackle.  Then brushing down ceiling and walls before sweeping floors; followed by a good old-fashioned floor scrub on hands and knees.  The bath, kitchen & bedroom will probably be the only rooms to get a thorough cleaning before I move in.

Once all my personal belongings are out of the rental house it will need a good going over too.  I’ve been keeping the day-to-day work up but it will need a final dust, sweep & mop on move out.  And I can’t forget to defrost the freezer and wipe out the fridge too.

Jo, my local friend and personal angel, will again help me, with moving things from the rental and possibly arranging some muscle to move the some furniture into and around in the house.

I’m getting exhausted just thinking about all there is To Do!

So I’ll take a deep breath …  and prioritize tasks by: Can’t Wait, Shouldn’t Wait, and Must Wait.

Although I would never literally paint myself into a corner I sure have a knack for doing it figuratively.

Fortunately I’m able to laugh at myself; it relieves some of the tension and lightens the mood.

Wish me luck!  –  Please!

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. Recently I moved into my house here, and even with the obstacles, I'm loving it! * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Ma Maison, The Dream, Where I am and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Too Much To Do List

  1. Mary says:

    Bonne chance!!

    Like

  2. Gail, you are so amazing, how exciting, “Bonne chance!!”
    And thanks for sharing your wonderful adventure, you are truly inspiring, time and time again!

    Like

  3. Carol Walter says:

    One thing for sure, you won’t have time to be lonely for the holidays. Merry Christmas, my friend! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

