A Matter of Perspective

Shakespeare wrote “All the world’s a stage …”

My “stage” genre is comedy-adventure and I take my role (within that genre) seriously.  I’ve found most of my experiences can be viewed with either a comedy or adventure perspective.

For me Sunday fit right in to that category.

1 Cave 2 cobwebs

Cave – full of cobwebs

I was preparing to shower before church and ran some hot water first, to warm up the bottom of the tub.  I tried to turn the hot water down with no luck and it wouldn’t even turn off!  I had completely blown out the washer.  Knowing that the water would have to be turned off, but not knowing for how long, I began filling up my water bottles* (the ones I had used for hot water before getting my heating fixed – see Living Bohemian).  Then I went to the garage to turn the heating off and also had to go down to the “Cave” (the cellar – which still had an accumulation of cobwebs), to turn the water completely off.

God again had an angel watching over me.  Colin had offered to help if I needed anything so I gave him a call and he came out and fixed the problem.  He told me it may be temporary because he didn’t have the exact washer but it’s working for now so I again have running water, both hot & cold, and heating.  I’m living a life of luxury!  AND my plumbing problem was fixed on a Sunday!

2 Cave 1 old wine

Old wine in my wine cellar !

* When I was filling the second batch of water bottles I noticed that the water was tinted reddish-brown and realized that the rusty sediment at the bottom of the water tank was being flushed out.  I allowed the water to run until it cleared before filling those bottles then turning off the main water supply.  So, the silver lining is that my water tank got cleaned out, which probably wouldn’t have happened otherwise.

3 Cave 6 corkscrew

Emergency equipment: a corkscrew

After battling the cobwebs to reach the shut-off valve I was prompted to attack the Cave the next day.  In the process of cleaning it I found some unopened wine stored there – along with an old corkscrew, you know, just in case you got stuck down there sometime.

In between getting the heating fixed and the plumbing excitement I’ve managed to do quite a bit of cleaning, mostly sweeping: floors, stairs, windows, shutters, ceilings, walls, the usual things people sweep.

I’ve also been sorting through things that were left behind by the previous owners.  They left a great art-deco dining set.

5 Dining set - buffet

Buffet

4 Dining set - table & chair

Hutch with Table and 1 of 6 chairs

 

 

 

In addition there was lots of little stuff left that needed to be sorted into the typical trash, recycle, donate, and keep, classifications.  I really like the old camera, wind-up alarm clocks, and whatever the object is to the right.

6 Odds & Ends

Odds & ends

9 Treasures

More cool stuff

There are also the treasures which make the sorting more like an adventure than work; such as an old school notebook from 1890, a book with notations on holidays between 1909 – 1920.

7 Notebook 1890

School Notebook dating from 1890.

8 Found Book 1909-1920

Book circa 1909-1920

I’ve finally made my way to the attic.  I’m just starting to sort things there and I’ve found a few keepers so far.

10 Attic cobwebs

Attic sky light with cobweb curtain

12 Keepers attic

Attic “Keepers” so far

 

 

21 garden shed

The “Garden Shed”

But what would a good adventure be without finding something scary?  I’ve got that covered too…

The “Garden Shed” in the Cœur or courtyard.

Okay, so I already knew it wasn’t really a garden shed before I got started clearing it out (sadly I didn’t take a picture of what was stored inside).  But a peek inside before starting had shown me the tank at the back so I also knew it wasn’t just a hole in the ground outhouse.

22 garden shed

Lurking inside …

 

When I had cleared everything out, with the exception of a particle-board cover on the floor, I just figured that the toilet bowl had been removed.  Wrong!

Most people have heard of two-seater outhouses …

Well I have my very own two-feeter …

23 - 2 feeter

My “two-feeter”

(otherwise known as a squat toilet).

I had seen one in France several years ago.

I have only needed to utilize one once, in Kenya.

If you have never had the joy of using one may it ever remain so.

 

I think I’ll go back to work in my cold, semi-dark, cobwebby attic now; it’s much less creepy there.

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. I arrived in France June 2015 and moved into my new house on New Year’s Eve. I’m experiencing challenges with ongoing renovations but it hasn’t dampened my spirit. Now I’m settling into life here, joining in the local community, enjoying visits from family and friends, and exploring other areas of France. * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Life in France, Ma Maison, The Dream, Where I am and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Matter of Perspective

  1. Vickie says:

    How are you my talented friend. Love reading these posts !!!!

    Like

  2. Carol Walter says:

    You always make me laugh. And since I’ve been at your house I can visualize your journey more vividly. Your a wonder to me, I would never take on a house restoration, like this at our age. Big KUDOS to you!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

