Welcoming Spring

Admittedly Uzerche experienced a mild winter this year.

I was grateful for this on two levels:

Since my heating went out a couple of times it was easier to keep the chill out of a stone house when the weather wasn’t extremely cold.

As a native of Southern California it broke me in gently to real winter weather.

Even though it was relatively warm here* this past winter I am still glad to see signs of spring around Uzerche.

(*December was mostly in the low 50°s F, January and February the low 40°s F, March beginning in the mid 40°s F, turning toward the mid 50°s F with the beginning of spring.)

The most obvious signs are the many wild flowers growing along the paths and roadsides.

Among the flowers were lots of Dandelions.  I’ve come across many Dandelion recipes lately so next time I go out for a long wander I’ll plan to bring a sack along to collect some.

Some of the trees are already in bloom:

as these by the Château Pontier,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Château Pontier

these trees in the garden of the Château Bécharie,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The garden at Château Bécharie

this tree in front of a popular hangout for locals, the Café de France,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Café de France, a local hangout

and this vibrant tree overlooking the Vézère River.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overlooking the Vézère River

This garden is in transition from winter to spring.  You can see some rows of lettuce and a couple of fresh furrows in the foreground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Garden in transition

I came across these wonderful brick features in another garden and couldn’t resist taking this picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Features in a private garden. The top one is a bread oven.

Another picture too good to pass up is the landscape maintenance man’s broom; this is what he actually uses.  You gotta love it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love the broom

April showers bring May flowers but they also chased me inside for the rest of the day.

I can’t wait for spring to come into its full glory.  When it does there’ll be more pictures to follow.

 

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. Recently I moved into my house here, and even with the obstacles, I'm loving it! * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Life in France, Where I am and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcoming Spring

  1. Mary says:

    Great post! I LOVE the pictures… I need to definitely visit in spring sometime! 🙂

    Like

  2. Carol W. says:

    Lovely! As beautiful as fall was there it looks like spring will be just as beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

