Memory of a New Life

from RMS Queen Mary 2

View from RMS Queen Mary 2 – On my way to France 5 juin 2015

A memory popped up on Facebook today. It reminded me that three years ago (on 5 June 2015) I embarked on my journey to France.

In a way it seems that time has gone quickly, but at the same time I think – “has it only been three years?” The question arises not because time has dragged on but because I have such a strong sense of being entrenched, of belonging, of home.

When I was a kid I don’t ever remember feeling homesick when I was away whether for an overnight at a friend’s house or at camp for a week. Our family vacations always involved going to visit relatives. I remember one visit to my mother’s family in Louisiana and I cried when it was time to head home.

The small town that I grew up in was great as a child. I could walk or bike to a friend’s house to play. We could go hike in the nearby hills or cross the historic Route 66 (then only a highway) to walk down Live Oak Canyon. But during my teenage years I found it very boring and couldn’t wait to get out. (Even though I only moved to the next town over to do so.)

I longed to travel, to go, to explore. So much so, that after high school I hitchhiked halfway across the US. (I’ve stated before that I have an awesome guardian angel; this trip was an awakening of that realization.)

I have been fortunate to be able to travel and to live abroad before moving to France. I have had to make adjustments but I didn’t experience total culture shock. The relaxed way of life and joyeux de vivre of the French suits me well.

I keep a calendar on my computer that goes beyond keeping track of birthdays and appointments. I note the weather forecast for the week so I can choose which days & times are best for walking to the supermarket. I note holidays because most stores will be closed those days. I’ve noted the railroad strike dates to be sure I don’t try to travel then.

And I clock watch – because the small shops (and even a few big ones) are closed during lunch, bakeries close between 12:30 or 1:00pm until around 4:00pm and restaurants are only open for lunch 12:00 to 2:30 and then again for dinner 7:00 ‘til whenever people have finished. Meals in France are sacrosanct.

But beyond shop schedules time eludes me. My kitchen is still on two levels well over a year later. This past winter was cold and rainy so I hibernated instead of working.

This spring, thanks to my friend Colin, the walls to the entry stairs got replastered:  I did the prep work and he did an amazing job of plastering. The 1st floor landing got repaired, a wall on the 2nd floor got patched, and I’ve arranged to have a roof leak on the rooms over the garage repaired. After years of working with deadlines I seem to be reveling in not caring much about them.

There are plenty of other tasks to be done around the house and I hope to be able to complete them all – someday.

Uzerche June lunch view

I’m still taking pictures – The view from today’s afternoon walk & picnic

In the meantime I’m enjoying living in such a beautiful town. I’m still in awe when I look out my windows or go for a walk. But beyond the beauty of place are the people. They have been so friendly and welcoming, and patient as I still struggle with French.

I’m planning a trip back to the US to visit my daughter and grandson but even before leaving I feel the tug of home. I also hope to do more traveling in the future but I don’t expect any long extended stays away.

I used to say of myself that I have shallow roots. I don’t say that anymore. I think I’ve found the place where the ‘soil’ is right for my soul.

About Joie du Voyage - Joy of the Journey

I'm following my long term dream of retiring in France. I arrived in France June 2015 and moved into my new house on New Year’s Eve. I’m experiencing challenges with ongoing renovations but it hasn’t dampened my spirit. Now I’m settling into life here, joining in the local community, enjoying visits from family and friends, and exploring other areas of France. * My personal motto: Don’t take life too seriously - or eternity too lightly. *
This entry was posted in Life in France, The Dream, Where I am and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memory of a New Life

  1. Osyth says:

    I love that line *the soil is right for my soul* …. I am currently in the US for 1-2 years having moved across in late April. I love it here, have a great opportunity to travel and get under the skin of some of the diversity of culture and landscape that makes up this place but France gnaws gently at my soul, reminding me that it is only there that I truly feel at home and at one with whatever it is that makes us feel content.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment